#womancrushwednesday · Beauty · Fitness · Ironman · Ironman 70.3 · Motivation · Pep Talk · SwimBikeRun · Training · Transformation · Tri Life · Tri Talk · Triathlon

{#WomanCrushWednesday Q & A | Esther Patience}

If you speak to triathletes, the one thing they have in common is how this sport has brought random people into their world. Esther is one of these people in my triathlon story.

At 70.3 in Durban, I ended up yo-yo cycling alongside Esther (who is 48 years young) and this got us chatting. When we bumped into each-other at the finish line, I had developed the greatest amount of respect for this woman.

She is determined as hell and the proof is in her journey, which has been one of blood, sweat and tears! I think what makes me have the biggest crush on her is that she makes friends with everyone on the course and has the greatest spirit of any triathlete I have ever had the privilege of meeting.

Esther
Esther and Nicol, one of the many other people she has inspired. (Photo Credit: Ironman)

1.How did your triathlon journey start?

After completing Comrades, I wanted to be an Ironman. Not so much for the fitness or title but for that Hot Ironman body!

So I joined the Embark Triathlon coached group owned by Steve Attwell (The Black and Red Army you’ll see at all Ironman events and all Triathlons in Cape Town) and never looked back a single day! Not being able to swim when I started was a minor inconvenience. One day I’ll still master the art of swimming but for now I’m just getting better and that’s ok for now.

2.What races are you doing / have you done this year?

This is a huge year for me. I want the coveted African Championship medal hence I’m doing all three African Ironman events on the calendar, Buffalo City 70.3, Full Ironman in April in PE as well as Durban 70.3 in June.

I’ll also be doing our standard local TRIs: Warm Water Weekend Long TRI in March and then planning to do Freshpak Sprint in September, Slanghoek Standard TRI in November and then lastly Jailbreak Standard TRI in December.

This year is also big in my other (favourite) discipline… endurance running. I’ll be taking on my 9th consecutive Two Oceans Ultra marathon (56km) at the end of March (two weeks before Full Ironman) and my 7th Comrades marathon on the 10th of June (one week after Durban 70.3).

To ensure my legs don’t lose my newly found cycling ability and strength I’m also doing a 100km cycling race this weekend (99er) and the popular Argus (Cape Town) Cycle Tour in March. My cycling year ends with the Stellenbosch Cycle Tour (previously called the Burger Sanlam Cycle Tour) in December.

My body better hold up!

Finish line feels
Finish line feels

3.Do you have any triathlon superstitions or things you must do before a race?

I used to have an obsession with my Triathlon Check List the night before as I was taught in my first year of Triathlon. My cousin and number one supporter, Let Seals, would patiently go through this with me as many times as I needed. Now I just try to pack quickly and beat the clock to get more than 3 hours of sleep the night before race day!

4.Which athlete do you most admire?

Of our local athletes, Richard Murray is my guy. He is most amazing as he runs through the pack and take his space. The first time I had the privilege of seeing him perform was at ITU in Cape Town. He ran himself from position 13 into 5th position. That was the most amazing performance for me to see live!

5.Have you named your bike yet?

Lol… My bike has been baptised on Day 1 as Mustang Sally. I’ve been teased that there is nothing Mustang about my little feminine XS bike… but “Mustang” is the way I’d like to feel when I ride her. Last week Sunday in Buffalo City I did… I felt like a wild horse roaming free on an open field and I was riding like I owned the road and nothing could stop me. What an awesome feeling!

6.What is the funniest moment that you have ever had during a race?

Esther swims
That smile is ALWAYS on her face

It’s probably more embarrassing than funny… but when I finished my 1st Open Water swim event (1.5km in one hour 14 minutes!) I got a standing ovation for finishing an open water swim… but then as most of the 3km swimmers were already done I got handed a 3km swim medal. I told the girl that it’s the wrong medal I need one for the 1.5km event and she just gave me this weird look as if I was speaking in a Foreign language. I guess swimming 1.5 km in 01:14 is a Foreign occurrence.

7.What is your ‘go to’ nutrition on race day?

In my second standard Triathlon I discovered GU’s Roctane on the run course. After taking that I felt like my race was only starting then and this was on the 2nd run lap already. So this has become my saving grace and backup plan for when things get tough the last 5 years.

Having said that I’m not generally a GU user (texture is horrible for me!) and 32 GI has been my Endurance brand of choice. This year I’m experimenting with new products and have had some success with CrampNot Premium. I’m not yet convinced that it is the right product for me as it has disappointed me when I pushed really hard. Hence I’m still out there experimenting.

8. Who is your biggest fan?

img-20180128-wa0081.jpeg
Esther & Let Seals – Her number 1 supporter

My cousin and number 1 supporter, Let Seals. She’s been with me on this adventure for the last 5 years from day 1.

She celebrated with me after my 1st Open Water swim and successful Triathlon and cried with me on My first and second DNF at Buffalo City. She fed me copious amounts of Jağermeïsters to get over the disappointment and pain. She was at Buffalo City with me last week and will be on my side again in PE this year.My True Number 1 Supporter.

9.What do you do for fun when you don’t swim / bike / run?

I like to spend time with my nieces and nephews and take them out in my free time. I also make time to have wine with friends.

10.What is your favourite:

Race: Slanghoek Triathlon – The MOST beautiful race venue in Cape Town

Discipline: Running – I LOVE ALL things running

Workout song: I don’t listen to music at all when working out but I do sing to myself … Ain’t Nothing gonna break my stride! Nobody’s gonna slow me down! OH no! I got to keep on moving!

20180118_063347
Training hard to chase those dreams!

Workout clothing brand: I’m not really brand conscious and mostly wear my Training group branded clothes.

I do like clothing with awesome motivational quotes on… My favourite workout Tee says: When I exercise I wear all black like I’m going to a funeral for my fat. I get more smiles in the Mall then in the gym though.

Post training guilty pleasure: A glass of wine or bubbly

 

 


{ STATS }

70.3 – 4

Olympic – 5

Sprint – 3

Non-standard – 1


Esther, I have no doubt in my mind that this is your year! I am so excited to share the Ironman South Africa course with you and there really is no one more deserving of the title, “IRONMAN!”

I get the biggest goosebumps just thinking that the next day will be your 49th birthday and the reason for you not being able to walk properly is not because of your age but because you will have heard those words: “ESTHER, YOU ARE AN IRONMAN!”

One thought on “{#WomanCrushWednesday Q & A | Esther Patience}

  1. I have been with friends with Esther for many years. I admire the type of person she is. She has an enormous about of passion and is always giving. I was so glad to be at a race with Esther last week. Congrats Esther on your recent achievement and all the best for the rest of the races. I know we will celebrate with wine.

    Like

Leave a comment